THE AMERICAN BIOLOGY TEACHER

Editorial Staff

Editor: William F. McComas

Parks Family Professor of Science Education

University of Arkansas ABTEditor@nabt.org

Senior Reviewing Kathleen Westrich and Cover Editor: Ronald Wilson R

Ronald Wilson Reagan College Preparatory H.S.

kmwestrich@yahoo.com

Reviewing Editors: Amanda Townley

Georgia Southern University aglaze@georgiasouthern.edu

Julie Minbiole

Colombia College Chicago jminbiole@colum.edu

Kate N. Walker

University of Arkansas knwalker@uark.edu

Emily Weigel

Georgia Institute of Technology emilygweigel@gmail.com

Suann Yang SUNY Geneseo yang@geneseo.edu

Managing Editor: Valerie Haff

managingeditor@nabt.org
ABT Production P.O. Box 3363

Office: Warrenton, VA 20188

Phone: (888) 501-NABT Web site: www.nabt.org

Contributing Douglas Allchin
Columnist: University of Minnesota

allchindouglas@gmail.com

In Appreciation

Christine S. Chantry • 1952–2003

Department Editors

Book Reviews: Kirstin Milks & Frank Brown Cloud, kirstin.milks@gmail.com Classroom Materials & Media Reviews: Jeffrey D. Sack, sack.jeffrey@comcast.net

Advertising Sales

Xavier Allen, Account Executive, MCI USA 410-584-1981, xavier.allen@wearemci.com

Guidelines for Authors Guidelines for authors may be found at http://www.nabt.org/publications

Printed by The Sheridan Press, on Forest Stewardship Council®–certified paper

 $\ensuremath{\mathbb{Q}}$ 2022 National Association of Biology Teachers All rights reserved.

The American Biology Teacher (ISSN 0002-7685, e-ISSN 1938-4211) is published nine times a year (monthly except June and July, Nov/Dec combined) for the National Association of Biology Teachers in collaboration with University of California Press, 155 Grand Avenue, Suite 400. Oakland, CA 94612-3764. Periodicals postage paid at Oakland, CA, and additional mailing offices. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to ABT, University of California Press, 155 Grand Avenue, Suite 400. Oakland, CA 94612-3764. E-mail: customerservice@ucpress.edu.

The American Biology Teacher is the official peer-reviewed journal of the National Association of Biology Teachers. All manuscripts must be submitted online at http://mc.manuscriptcentral.com/ucpress-abt.

Requirements for submissions can be found in the ABT Authors & Photographers Guidelines located online at https://nabt.org/files/galleries/ABT_Guidelines_July_2020.pdf.

The comments and opinions expressed in this publication are not attributed to and do not necessarily represent the views of the National Association of Biology Teachers. Announcements and advertisements in this journal for products do not imply endorsement of or by NABT.

Membership Information

NABT membership is \$79 a year for full membership and \$149 for organizational membership in the United States, Canada, and Mexico; \$150 for full membership elsewhere. \$48 of annual membership dues applies to a subscription of *The American Biology Teacher*. Student, adjunct faculty and early career teacher memberships are \$35 and retired membership is \$60 (\$35 online only) if that person has been an NABT member for 10 years or more and is retired.

Subscriptions are offered on a calendar-year basis; members and subscribers receive all issues in the volume for the year in which their subscription is entered.

See http://abt.ucpress.edu/content/subscriptions-and-single-issues for single issue and institutional subscription orders, back issues from volume 69 forward, and claims information. Domestic claims for nonreceipt of issues should be made within 90 days of the mail date; overseas claims within 180 days. Mail dates can be checked at: http://www.ucpress.edu/journals.php?p=release. UC Press does not begin accepting claims for an issue until thirty (30) days after the mail date. For back issues before volume 69, contact NABT at publication@nabt.org.

Inquiries about advertising can be sent to abt@networkmediapartners.com. For complete abstracting and indexing coverage for the journal, visit http://abt.ucpress.edu. All other inquiries can be directed to customerservice@ucpress.edu.

Copying and permissions notice: Authorization to copy article content beyond fair use (as specified in Sections 107 and 108 of the U.S. Copyright Law) for internal or personal use, or the internal or personal use of specific clients, is granted by The Regents of the University of California on behalf of the National Association of Biology Teachers for libraries and other users, provided that they are registered with and pay the specified fee through the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), www.copyright.com. To reach the CCC's Customer Service Department, phone 978-750-8400 or write to info@copyright.com. For permission to distribute electronically, republish, resell, or repurpose material, use the CCC's Rightslink service, available on JSTOR at http://abt.ucpress.edu. Submit all other permissions and licensing inquiries through University of California Press's Reprints and Permissions web page, http://www.ucpress.edu/journals.php?p=reprints or via email jpermissions@ucpress.edu.

Executive Director

Jaclyn Reeves-Pepin

Board of Directors

President: Chris Monsour
President-Elect: Tara Jo Holmberg
Past President: Julie Angle
Secretary/Treasurer: Jacqueline Washington
Director-at-Large: Cindy Gay
Director-at-Large: Anna Hiatt

Director/Coordinator: Kevin English Director/Coordinator: Tom Freeman

Regional Coordinators

Region I (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT): Todd Ryan Region II (DE, DC, MD, NJ, NY, PA, VA): Nicole Veltre Region III (IL, IN, MI, OH, WI): Kevin English Region IV (IA, KS, MN, MO, NE, ND, SD): Heather Essig Region V (KY, NC, SC, TN, WV): Robin Bulleri Region VI (AL, FL, GA, LA, MS, PR): Audra Brown Ward



For more information, visit www.nabt.org

Region VII (AZ, AR, NM, OK, TX): Kristy Daniel
Region VIII (CO, ID, MT, NV, UT, WY): Carrie Jo Bucklin
Region IX (AK, CA, HI, OR, WA, Pacific Territories): Tom Freeman
Region X (Canadian Provinces & Territories): Martha Schissler

Committee Chairs

ABT Journal Advisory Committee: William F. McComas Awards Committee: Jason Crean Finance Committee: Jacqueline Washington Honorary Membership Committee: Tara Jo Holmberg Member Resources Committee: Catherine Ambos Nominating Committee: Bob Melton Professional Development Committee: Vacant Retired Members Committee: Dennis Gathmann

Section Chairs

AP Biology Section: Mark Little BioClub Section: Ashlie Gowitzka Four-Year College & University Section: Todd Kelson Two-Year College Section: Sheela Vemu