THE AMERICAN BIOLOGY TEACHER

Editorial Staff Editor William F. McComas Parks Family Professor of Science Education University of Arkansas ABTEditor@nabt.org Cover Photo Editor Iulie Minbiole jminbiole@colum.edu Reviewing Editors: Julie Minbiole Columbia College Chicago jminbiole@colum.edu Kate N. Walker University of Arkansas knwalker@uark.edu Emily Weigel Georgia Institute of Technology emilygweigel@gmail.com Suann Yang SUNY Geneseo yang@geneseo.edu Managing Ediror: Valerie Haff managingeditor@nabt.org ABT Production P.O. Box 3363 Warrenton, VA 20188 Office phone: (888) 501-NABT Web site: www.nabt.org Contributing James Morris, Brandeis University Columnist: (jmorris@brandeis.edu) **Department Editors** Book Reviews: Kirstin Milks & Frank Brown Cloud, Kirstin.milks@gmail.com Classroom Materials & Media Reviews: Jeffrey D. Sack, sack.jeffrey@comcast.net **Advertising Sales** Charlton Calhoun, NABT Account Executive, ccalhoun@nabt.org and 401-964-3961 **Guidelines for** Guidelines for authors may be found at Authors https://nabt.org/Resources-American-Biology-Teacher Printed by The Sheridan Press, on Forest Stewardship

Council[®]-certified paper

Executive Director

Jaclyn Reeves-Pepin

Board of Directors

President: Kirstin Milks President-Elect: Vedham Karpakakunjaram Past President: Amanda Townley Secretary/Treasurer: Jacqueline Washington Director-at-Large: Kristy Daniel Director-at-Large: Anneke Metz Director/Coordinator: Lee Ferguson Director/Coordinator: Andrew Taylor

Regional Coordinators

Region I (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT): Don Pinkerton Region II (DE, DC, MD, NJ, NY, PA, VA): Jennifer Jones Region III (IL, IN, MI, OH, WI): David Butler Region IV (IA, KS, MN, MO, NE, ND, SD): Andrew Taylor Region V (KY, NC, SC, TN, WV): Robin Bulleri Region VI (AL, FL, GA, LA, MS, PR): Abigail Warden Region VII (AZ, AR, NM, OK, TX): Lee Ferguson Region VIII (CO, ID, MT, NV, UT, WY): Katina Marcos



© 2025 National Association of Biology Teachers. All rights reserved.

The American Biology Teacher (ISSN 0002-7685, e-ISSN 1938-4211) is published nine times a year (monthly except June and July, Nov/Dec combined) for the National Association of Biology Teachers in collaboration with University of California Press, 1111 Franklin Street, Oakland, CA 94607. Periodicals postage paid at Oakland, CA, and additional mailing offices. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to ABT, University of California Press; 1111 Franklin Street, Oakland, CA 94607. E-mail: customerservice@ucpress.edu.

The American Biology Teacher is the official peer-reviewed journal of the National Association of Biology Teachers. All manuscripts must be submitted online at http://abt.scholasticahq.com/.

Requirements for submissions can be found in the ABT Authors & Photographers Guidelines located online at https://nabt.org/Resources-American-Biology-Teacher.

The comments and opinions expressed in this publication are not attributed to and do not necessarily represent the views of the National Association of Biology Teachers. Announcements and advertisements in this journal for products do not imply endorsement of or by NABT.

Membership Information

NABT membership is \$99 a year for full membership and \$250 for organizational membership in the United States, Canada, and Mexico; \$170 for full membership elsewhere. \$49 of annual membership dues applies to a subscription of *The American Biology Teacher*. Student, adjunct faculty and early career teacher memberships are \$49 and retired membership is \$90 (\$49 online only) if that person has been an NABT member for 10 years or more and is retired.

Subscriptions are offered on a calendar-year basis; members and subscribers receive all issues in the volume for the year in which their subscription is entered.

See https://mps-ucpress.com/selectedJournal?jcode=ucpabt for single issue and institutional subscription orders. For claims, please email customerservice@ucpress.edu. Domestic claims for nonreceipt of issues should be made within 90 days of the mail date; overseas claims within 180 days. Mail dates can be checked at: https://online.ucpress.edu/journals/pages/schedule_of_releases. UC Press does not begin accepting claims for an issue until thirty (30) days after the mail date. For back issues before volume 69, contact NABT at office@nabt.org.

For complete abstracting and indexing coverage for the journal, visit https://online.ucpress.edu/ abt. All other inquiries can be directed to customerservice@ucpress.edu.

Copying and permissions notice: Authorization to copy article content beyond fair use (as specified in Sections 107 and 108 of the U.S. Copyright Law) for internal or personal use, or the internal or personal use of specific clients, is granted by The Regents of the University of California on behalf of the National Association of Biology Teachers for libraries and other users, provided that they are registered with and pay the specified fee through the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), www.copyright.com. To reach the CCC's Customer Service Department, phone 978-750-8400 or write to info@copyright.com. For information on reprints and permissions, please visit https://online.ucpress.edu/journals/pages/reprintspermissions.

All journals published by the University of California Press comply fully with the requirements of the General Product Safety Regulation (December 2024). For any queries concerning GPSR, please contact our authorized representative in the EU: Easy Access System Europe – Mustamäe tee 50, 10621 Tallinn, Estonia, gpsr.requests@easproject.com.

For more information, visit www.nabt.org

Region IX (AK, CA, HI, OR, WA, Pacific Territories): Bethany Cates Region X (Canadian Provinces & Territories): Martha Schissler

Committee Chairs

ABT Journal Advisory Committee: William F. McComas Awards Committee: Kathy Van Hoeck Finance Committee: Jacqueline Washington Informal Science Committee: Jill Maroo Honorary Membership Committee: Lindsey Fields Long Range Planning Committee: Steve Christenson JEDI Committee: Enya Granados & Maribel Gendreau Member Resources Committee: David Butler & Kirstin Milks Nominating Committee: Bob Melton Professional Development Committee: Vacant Retired Members Committee: Dennis Gathmann

Section Chairs

AP Biology Section: Mark Little BioClub Section: Tanya Quiroz High School Section: Ashlie Gowitzka Four-Year College & University Section: Sayali Kukday Two-Year College Section: Melanie Lenahan