Departures in Critical Qualitative Research

Editor

Kakali Bhattacharya, University of Florida

Managing Editor

Brandon Keene-Orton, Central Michigan University

Book Circle Editor

Madhunika Suresh-Mueller, The University of Oklahoma-Norman

Editorial Board

Tony Adams, Bradley University
Himika Bhattacharya, Syracuse University
Arthur P. Bochner, University of South Florida
Liz Bondi, University of Edinburgh
Robin M. Boylorn, University of Alabama
Svend Brinkmann, Aalborg University, Denmark
Bernadette Marie Calafell, Gonzaga University
Gaile S. Cannella, Arizona State University
Aimee Carrillo Rowe, California State University,
Northridge

Karma R. Chávez, University of Texas, Austin César A. Cisneros-Puebla, Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana

Juanne Clarke, Wilfrid Laurier University
Ardra Cole, Mount Saint Vincent University
Joyce Davidson, Queen's University
Bronwyn Davies, University of Melbourne
Stephanie Daza, Manchester Metropolitan University
Norman K. Denzin, University of Illinois at UrbanaChampaign

Matthew dcTar, Ohio University
Cynthia Dillard, University of Georgia
Kitrina Douglas, University of West London
Aisha Durham, University of South Florida
Mohan J. Dutta, Massey University
Laura Ellingson, Santa Clara University
Carolyn Ellis, University of South Florida
Carol W.N. Fadda, Syracuse University
Susan Finley, Washington State University
Elissa Foster, DcPaul University
Ken Gale, Plymouth University
Susanne Gannon, University of Western Sydney
Denise Gastaldo, University of Toronto
Craig Gingrich-Philbrook, Southern Illinois University

University of New York
Dan Harris, RMIT University, Australia
Ronald L. Jackson II, University of Cincinnati
Amber L. Johnson, Saint Louis University

Jean Halley, College of Staten Island of the City

Stacy Holman Jones, Monash University
Grant Kien, California State University, East Bay
Priya Kumar, Delhi University
Antonio C. La Pastina, Texas A&M
Jennifer Lapum, Ryerson University
Lore/tta LeMaster, Arizona State University
Michael LeVan, Washington State University,
Vancouver

Pranee Liamputtong, LaTrobe University
Daniel Makagon, DePaul University
Annette Markham, Aarhus University
Lisa Mazzei, University of Oregon
Robert McRuer, The George Washington University
Mary Elizabeth Meier, Mercyhurst University
Michelle Miller-Day, Chapman University
Jeanine M. Mingé, California State University,
Northridge

Claudio Moreira, University of Massachusetts, Amherst Hester Parr, University of Glasgow Sarah Pink, RMIT University, Australia Chris Poulos, University of North Carolina, Greensboro

Scot Rademaker, Winthrop University Amardo Rodriguez, Syracuse University Laurel Richardson, Ohio State University Johnny Saldaña, Arizona State University Kathryn Sorrells, California State University, Northridge

Stephanie Springgay, University of Toronto
Kelly Sundberg, Ashland University
Sophie Tamas, Carleton University
Lisa Tillmann-Healy, Rollins University
Keyan Tomaselli, University of KwaZulu-Natal
Sarah J. Tracy, Arizona State University
Eve Tuck, State University of New York at New Paltz
Mark Vicars, Victoria University, Australia
Jeannie Wright, University of Warwick
Jonathan Wyatt, University of Edinburgh

Departures in Critical Qualitative Research (ISSN 2333–9489, e-ISSN 2333–9497) is published four times a year (March, June, September, and December) by University of California Press, University of California Press, IIII Franklin St., Oakland, CA 94607.

See https://online.ucpress.edu/dcqr/pages/subscriptions for single issue and subscription orders.

For complete abstracting and indexing coverage for the journal, please visit: https://online.ucpress.edu/dcqr. All other inquiries can be directed to customerservice@ucpress.edu.

Copying and permissions notice: Authorization to copy article content beyond fair use (as specified in Sections 107 and 108 of the US Copyright Law) for internal or personal use, or the internal or personal use of specific clients, is granted by The Regents of the University of California for libraries and other users, provided that they are registered with and pay the specified fee through the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), www.copyright.com. To reach the CCC's Customer Service Department, phone 978–646–2600 or write to info@copyright.com. For permission the distribute electronically, republish, resell, or repurpose material, use the CCC's Rightslink service, available at https://online.ucpress.edu/dcqr. Submit all other permissions and licensing inquiries through University of California Press's Reprints and Permissions web page, https://online.ucpress.edu/journals/pages/reprintspermissions or via email: permissions@ucpress.edu.

General operating support for Departures in Critical Qualitative Research is provided by the University of California Press Foundation. To learn more about the foundation or to make a donation. please visit https://www.ucpress.edu/supportus.

All journals published by the University of California Press comply fully with the requirements of the General Product Safety Regulation (December 2024). For any queries concerning GPSR, please contact our authorized representative in the EU: Easy Access System Europe - Mustamäe tee 50, 10621 Tallinn, Estonia, gpsr.requests@easproject.com.

Cover illustration: MK Frank © 2013

Printed by The Sheridan Press.

© 2025 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.